A gentle nudge from the Holy Spirit


God taught me a massive lesson, which I think applies to a lot of us in this generation. I think a lot of us are more worried about what others think of us more than what God thinks (Biblically speaking, seeking the honour of man). A couple of days ago, I got back from work and wondered whether I did something correctly. Some prescriptions have to have a legal wording on them to say whether they can be supplied on certain days; I couldn’t remember reading that. Knowing that it was a legal issue, I was so worried for the whole weekend whether supplying the medication to the patient was the right thing to do and couldn’t wait until it was Monday so I can find out whether I was saved or doomed. When the worry started, the Holy Spirit whispered something in my ears and I could feel Him place a mirror before me saying, “look at yourself”. I couldn’t believe what I saw. I was so worried sick about unconsciously violating a human law at work, whereas I saw God’s law no where near up to that standard. I took His word lightly. 

As it does, the weekend passed with all it’s worry and anxiety and Monday came along. It can be imagined as to how much prayers and confessions has been made prior to entering work. Some how in me I knew that things would be alright and that this was a lesson God was trying to teach me, but I could never be sure. Anyway it turned out that the prescription did have the wording, the reason I didn’t remember reading it was that it was stamped as opposed to it being typed with the rest of the information on the script. 

So what can be said? God uses every situation of our fall and rise for His glory. He teaches and corrects His children because He loves us. He is a loving Father and we can trust in His wisdom. 

“How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word. With all my heart I have sought You; Do not let me wander from Your commandments. Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You..” – Psalm.119:9-11 

“This is the covenant I will make with the people of Israel after that time,” declares the LORD. “I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people.” – Jeremiah.31:33

“For the LORD corrects those he loves, just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights.” – Proverbs.3:12 

Leave a Reply

