Called by name!


So… one thing upset me recently and considering that it was small it really made me think as to why it bothered me a lot. It’s been almost 2 months since I started working, a colleague still doesn’t call me by my name. I noticed this last time when she shouted “Excuse me! Excuse me!” pointing towards me and later on referred to me as “this lady”. Such things don’t usually bother me, but I only understood why when I came across this verse today:

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by your name;
You are Mine.” – Isaiah.43:1b

Name is your unique identity that says a lot about you. And if someone calls you by your name it shows that they care about your identity, who you are as a person. I think that’s why it hurt when this lady I worked with for almost 2 months didn’t refer to me by my name.

The beautiful thing is, the Bible tells me that the God who flung the stars in the universe, the One who created the world we live in with all it’s beauty, the One created our most delicate and complicated body also knows me not just as a physical being with motion, but as a person, calling me by my name.

Psalm.139, one of my favourite chapters in the Bible puts it beautifully:

“You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.” – Psalm.139:1-4

Leave a Reply

