Listening to GOD’s voice


And he said, “Go out and stand on the mount before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper. And when Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. And behold, there came a voice to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” – 1Kings.19:11-13

Most of the time I find myself wondering, “How can I hear God’s voice? How can I be sure?” etc. There were moments when I heard God’s voice and they were so clear I knew they were from Him, but it wasn’t all the time. I want God to speak to me all the time, well rather I want to hear God’s voice all the time (because God is always wanting to speak to us.

I have discovered that there are a number of things that stop us from hearing God’s voice. 

1. Unrepentant heart and wanting to take control of your life

2. Restless mind – often I find myself having a number of thoughts running in my mind all at the same time that I find it hard to fit God in the equation

3. Busy lives – we are so busy running our little lives that there is no time for God. That’s why Elijah had to go to the mountain to hear from God. Perhaps God is whispering but the noisy chaos of life is hindering us from listening. 

I really admire my Muslim friends, in their dedication for prayer. They give the most busiest and most uncomfortable hours of the day to God. I wonder how many of us Christians do that. 

May God help us to be more attentive to His word, just like Samuel. Amen! 

 

Leave a Reply

