The thorn or the petal?


“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans.5:8

“Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord!” – Psalm 31:24

In life, we want things to be perfect and spotless, but what we get in the end is very often fragile, imperfect and contains somethings we don’t like/ agree with. This causes us so much pain, disappointment and bitterness. Things don’t work out the way we want them to be or they don’t happen when we want them to take place. All these things bring grief to our hearts and steal the joy we are suppose to experience and reflect each day. They dwell within and eat us from the inside out. 

I asked God, “God why do I have to go through this? Why is it, what I expected life to be a beautiful flower showing somethings I don’t like? ” 

Then God whispered in my heart, “Listen child, when you get a rose, you don’t just get the petals, but also the thorny stem too. Now rose is very beautiful but it comes as a package, you can’t have one or the other.”

Then I realized that I was a thorny plant myself, even with out any beauty when God still loved me and chose to die for me, that I might live and flourish into a beautiful flower. It was hard to accept, but yes God is breaking those thorns and making me into a new person, more alive and more beautiful as I draw my water from the living river that never ceases flowing. It does hurt, but I know its for the best. 

Therefore if God Has loved me in such a manner, then should I not do the same to those around me? Should I not accept the full package? 

Yes in life we have to make difficult decisions and in as much as we need the faith to say “yes”, we need that much faith to say “no”. Its not easy when God moulds you, but its for the best. So trust Him, He knows what He is doing, though we don’t. Keep the faith! 

 

Leave a Reply

