Ebenezer


1 Samuel.7:12

Often when we watch a movie, particularly if it is a series, we get very excited for the next part or with this question in our head “what’s going to happen next?” This is not just for movies, but it can apply to other things like books for example. And if it is a long series we would, as I often put it “get addicted” to this movie, book or whatever it is.

I really applaud writers, TV producers and film directors for studying their psychology well. They know exactly where to stop, so the person following this story is left hanging with many questions and literally can’t wait to read or watch what’s going to happen next!

With my life I can kind of relate to that. I am not the most organised person, but I do keep a diary, where I plan my daily activities. I like to look at tomorrow or the following week and see what I have planned and sometimes, there are things I look forward to, which make that particular week very exciting. Last time I was looking at the blank pages of my diary for the coming months and wondering what I will be writing on them then?

I am currently a university student. Before I came to university, I used to wonder the same thing. Getting to university was one of my biggest dreams, and the times I was anxious about this and whether I will get to university was countless. However God was faithful and despite of my doubts, He planned it perfectly in a way that I didn’t anticipate.

But now that I am living one of my dreams, Praise God, the question that’s always been on my head “what’s next?” rings again. “I don’t know, but I wait for God to reveal His will to me.” 

I believe that within all human beings this question is very frequent, but I also believe that we are not made to know all the answers, or see what tomorrow holds for us. I love this saying that my Bible mentor always quoted on every email he sent me,

“I DON’T KNOW WHAT THE FUTURE HOLDS, BUT I KNOW WHO HOLDS THE FUTURE!”

It is true, we may not know what tomorrow will be like, but surely we can rest in the truth that the God who loves us so much that He sent His Son to die for us, has a perfect plan for us. I read this verse this morning, “I know that You can do everything, and that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.” ~Job.42:2~

The God who brought us thus far, won’t leave us now, for “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians.1:6~ 

‘Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named it Ebenezer, saying, “Thus far the LORD has helped us.” ~1Samuel.7:12~ and He is with us for what’s to come, AMEN!

This poem kind of reflects on what I am saying… HOLD ME CLOSE

One comment on “Ebenezer

Leave a Reply

